Recipe: Edwardian Curried Eggs

Curry. Eggs. Simple, but delightful! After seeing this delectable looking pan bagnat from lavenderandlovage. I also found a recipe for Edwardian Curried Eggs. I really love this dish because it’s ingredients can be prepared ahead of time.

I didn’t use the exact recipe measurements (I just eyeballed them), and it turned out splendid. I altered things a little by using less butter, adding a bit of garlic (because I need to have garlic in everything, lol), and using my own curry blend with just a whisper of cinnamon. Also, slightly different from the directions: I let the apples caramelize with the onion, then cooked out the flour & spices before adding the water. I molded the eggs into a sphere (see this post), and cut them horizontally. Some homemade chutney and brown basmati rice finished it off.

This recipe comes from a 1930’s cookbook and is a meal that was a pleasant reminder of lavenderandlovage’s childhood. I enjoyed her post about familiar scents and smells bringing back good memories. I can always use the comfort that comes from good memories. I tried to create good new memories & used traditional plates as she did. I even had a cup of hot tea in this Arizona heatwave! Luckily, I was inside.

If you adore curries as I do, please have a go at this recipe. It’s a versatile dish that can be used for everyday meals or more elegant, formal occasions.image