WhirlwinDISH 16

Great Northern beans! When I cook a pot of any type of bean, I always have to come up with ways to make use of them. My favorite is simply beans with cornbread or rice. I cooked these in the slow cooker with only garlic & onion to keep my meal options open. Besides the dishes pictured, I’ve used them for veggie Boston baked beans and rice bowls. I still have quite a bit frozen, as well.

# 1: Simple salad with warm northerns, mung bean sprouts, extra virgin olive oil, red wine vin, & raw red onion. I love the warm beans with the crisp greens & bite from the onions.

# 2: Dip with cumin, lime, fresh garlic, ground red pepper, and macadamia nuts. I made one super smooth version (pic) and one with chopped nuts. The chunky dip was my fave. This was delicious with baked injera chips.

#3: Toasted whole wheat ravioli with smashed beans, purple basil-parsley pesto, & oven-dried tomatoes. I also had some of the ravioli just boiled with a little olive oil (as I put the sauce on the ‘inside’). I used the rest of the pesto & tomatoes for spaghetti.

#4: Homemade saffron veggie broth with northerns, golden beets, and baby turnip greens. So easy!imageimageimageimageimageimage