Food: A Study in Still Lifes 1

Blue Bottle Coffee.

After posting this artistic-looking dessert, I thought I would roundup a few others. I changed my mind and decided to make it a semi-regular posting. So, this is the first of my Food: A Study in Still Lifes posts. I will include all types of artsy looking meals and dishes (including desserts) that I may come across.

This particular post may be unusual in that it is not about one particular dessert, but an entire book. The modern art cake on the cover, though, is what attracted my attention. There are many similarities in creating a stunning dessert or meal and creating a beautiful piece of artwork. You might even compare it to composing a great piece of music. One obvious difference, of course, is that a canvas, sculpture, score, etc. will stay around a bit longer! It can take a great deal of skill and patience as one prepares a thoughtful meal for someone…seeing it in your mind’s eye, creating symmetry (or lack of it), composing flavors and textures, putting those final detailed touches on your creation…Some of this skill can be taught, I think, and some may just be a natural gifting. I have had several meals and treats that seemed like they were too pretty to eat.

I hope you enjoy these postings, and perhaps they will inspire you to do some of the same. They may even inspire me to create something a little fancier from time to time, along with my simple WhirlwinDISH meals!