A Tale of Two Pasta Sauces

Just an update on my post about pasta sauces. I kind of took bits and pieces from some of the recipes I listed. FYI, I stated in that post to check out my updated blogroll. I updated the menu page, but, dash it all, I forgot to update it in the footer. So, I fixed it. Also, no biggie…but, I updated my Pomegranate Brunch post to include a couple of ingredients I left out. It wasn’t too long after the initial posting, though.

I decided on a rustic type of theme for this occasion, as I didn’t want it too formal. I don’t know how I forgot my fave white clam sauce on my other post, but it was a contender. As I mulled over the recipes, though, my mom indirectly made my decision for me. She had bacon! So, I pinched a few rashers from her. I finally found out what rasher means from the Traditional Scottish Recipe blog I posted. Please check its page on US/UK Cooking Terms if you need assistance translating language for ingredients, utensils, methods, and oven temperatures, or measurements conversions. I often read recipes from the UK, so it has made things much easier for me. So, the bacon…when I saw it, all of a sudden I started craving bacon and egg pasta. I don’t remember the last time I even made it. When the craving wouldn’t go away, I set about making a healthier version of my traditional recipe. That’s also what led me to my last minute 2nd pasta dish. I wanted a prep with a few more veggies to balance out the bacon. Technically, I wouldn’t say that it really had a ‘sauce,’ though…more like a ‘dressing,’ I think.

For the bacon and egg pasta, I went with a creamy avocado base inspired by the Creamy Avocado Pasta recipe I posted. I gave it a little extra veggie boost by blending it with some kale, and seasoned it with garlic, and s&p. Such an easy idea. I had to stop myself from eating it so it could actually go onto the pasta. I sautéed the pasta with beaten eggs, added the sauce, chopped bacon, and used nutritional yeast to replace my usual gobs of cheese. Finished with a bit more bacon and raw red onion. I would like to do a BLT pasta similarly. I felt this was a great healthier alternative, and more importantly…I didn’t feel like I was sacrificing flavor.

The Purple Sprouting Broccoli (with anchovies!) recipe I posted reminded me of how much I love simple drizzlings of extra virgin olive oil to flavor my pasta dishes. Along with sautéed garlic, chile, and orange zest, it made for a nice, light contrast to the avocado. I used a few veggies I had on hand and that was it! The pumpkin pastas from that post gave me the idea to use roasted sweet potatoes. I must be one of the only people I know who doesn’t care for pumpkin pie. Our family always had sweet potato pie for Holidays. When I finally tasted a pumpkin pie, it was not for me. I avoided anything with pumpkin in it for a long time after that, but I’ve now found I like pumpkin cheesecake and quick breads.

I also made a cast iron skillet apple pie for the evening with just a crust for the top. Alas, I didn’t take a pic. I’ve always used my mom’s recipe because it’s my fave. It’s not exact because she doesn’t have one written down. I had to watch her a couple of times to get the gist of it. I just made the one crust because it’s easier (and it saves a few cals). But, if you’re going to make a double crust, you might take a look at how to keep the bottom crust from being soggy here: How to Avoid Soggy Bottoms (about pies, not baby diapers 😉 ).

Have a great weekend!

image