Same Ingredients, Different Dish

The majority of the salads I eat at home are simply lettuce, tomato, and dressing. Sometimes just lettuce and dressing. I like to switch it up every once in a while, though — especially when something or someone inspires me. One of my favorite restaurants in Scottsdale/Phoenix, AZ had a light salad made from spring mix lettuces, julienne apples, gorgonzola, and a Chianti vinaigrette. That simple concept is what I based this salad on:
image
The base was a trio of babies: spinach, chard, and kale. I subbed some pears that needed to be used for the apples, and tossed in spicy roasted pecans and caramelized red onion. I roasted the pecans with chiles in oil & finished with a bit of salt. I learned my lesson from making that spelt tortilla pizza (read about it in this post), though, and kept everything well ventilated while roasting the chiles, haha. I didn’t have Chianti, so I made a vin from my homemade fruit wine, fruit wine vinegar, garlic oil, shallots, pinch of raw sugar & stevia, and s&p. I forgot the herbs, but, oh well! I added a garnish of “fried” yogurt cheese. I am currently fasting from regular cheeses, butter, and a few other things 😦 😦 , so I decided to use my homemade non-fat yo-cheese (see how to make homemade yogurt in your slow cooker here). I mixed it with a little beaten egg, as was called for in the Lamb Moussaka recipe I recently posted about. So salty and yummy! I was craving something similar to my fave fried goat cheese. The first time I had fried goat cheese was in a salad at a Phoenix Art Museum restaurant, and I have been in love with it ever since.

Using basically the same ingredients (being frugally minded), I also made a pear flatbread/pizza on a homemade whole&heirloom wheat tortilla:
image
As I said in my post on The Many Uses of Spelt, I often use tortillas for a quick pizza base. As pizza is one of my favorite eats, I will use any kind of bread to produce one. I particularly like tortillas, though, because they are so thin (I make mine super, super, thin). So, less bread equals less calories, and I still get my craving satisfied. I lightly poached the pears with ginger before piling them onto the tortilla. The tortilla was rubbed down with garlic oil first, and I also added the caramelized onions, yo-cheese & egg mixture, and spicy roasted pecans. I let the pie come up to temperature first, then gave it a hit under the broiler. Simple and satisfying.