Recycled Containers & DIY Adhesive Remover

OK, I admit I probably recycle too many containers. I periodically have to go through them (usually when there is no more space) to decide which ones I should keep…and let me tell you — it’s an inner battle! If I start thinking about all of the things I can do with them, it will never happen. I have to just hold my breath and do it cold turkey. I also admit I sometimes just buy products for the container they are in and not the actual product itself. So, I usually keep those.

I have way more, but about a few of the ones I’ve pictured: My current fave containers are my Noosa Yoghurts (The BEST Yoghurt! SO good!). The 8 oz. is a perfect one portion meal size (and the 16 oz. for two) — great to go in the fridge or freezer. They are also great for organizing smaller objects like ‘shop’ type items (nails, screws, nuts and bolts), office supplies, craft supplies, etc. I also love the large containers that many spices come in with a 2-sided flip top (see pic, with the green top). They are designed to be easy to hold, so you can grab them quickly out of the cupboard. I usually store bulk grains or rice in mine, but they could be used for a number of things. I have other purchased storage containers I can (and do) use, but I like that the ‘pour’ side of the top makes for easy measuring. Also, even if it’s not your brand of choice, check out the pic of the cute soy sauce bottle. It has a stopper inside, so you can take it with you to the office or wherever for lunch. If you don’t do soy sauce, it’s great for vinaigrettes, etc.

You can also always use your containers for your own homemade versions of what you purchased. I do that with hot sauce, mustard, nut butters, mayo, and more. You can use a soup can in place of a cookie cutter, but I also collect them around the holidays to bake quick breads in to give as gifts. I’m not the only one recycling, though. My fave coffee shop recycles their jelly jars into customer to-go juice jars. So, of course I keep those. 🙂

Lastly, if you are a container recycler like I am, here’s a link for a homemade chemical-free adhesive remover. It’s just a mixture of coconut oil and baking soda. I found links that also called for a few drops of essential oil or just essential oil and baking soda. I have used nut butter and baking soda and found that to be successful (and possibly cheaper). I tried just nut butter first because I remembered it is advised to put it in kids’ (or perhaps adults’) hair to remove chewing gum. It was OK, but the addition of baking soda really helped it along. I always soak the label in hot water first to see if that will do the trick. If the adhesive is fairly old and sticky, try using a scrubby or stainless steel sponge after applying the oil and baking soda.
image